Tags

, , , ,

Abaya  is a”clock”, a simple, loose robe like dress, worn traditionally by women in parts of the Islamic world including North Africa and the Gulf. Traditional abayas are black and essentially consist of a large square of fabric looking like a long caftan. It covers the whole body except the face, feet, and hands. Under the clock woman is free to wear any other clothes. Here is the traditional abaya, how it used to look and how many women of the older generation still wear it.

 

Times are changing and modern abayas also have gone through quite a transformation. Look what a beauty it has developed itself into. Ornaments, lace, swarowski crystals, stones, body fitting, variety of textures, colorful combinations. I am in LOVE with this abaya featured by Olivia Palermo for DAS abaya fashion house. If this is not the most classy, feminine and sensual dress ever created then I do not know what is. How something that is covering you from top to toe still be the most sensual and the most eye catchy dress without need to expose any feminine body parts? Amazing, isn’t it.

Spend few hours in a coffee house on a Thursday or Friday nights in Dubai Mall or MOE and you will be amazed by the variety of the garments and beauty of the dresses of the passing by local fashionistas. Some girls are wearing skinny jeans underneath the clock and styling most amazing high heeled shoes. The combination is amazing.

As for myself I came across my first abaya/dress in May in “Ghawia” shop in Dubai mall and felt in love with it instantly. This was and is the most sensual and the most cherished and loved piece of clothing I ever owned. I promise also to post picture of it of me actually wearing it. I got numerous compliments for it whether you go to the theater or to fancy dinner in places like “Zuma” or “Caramel”. It would be as perfect for attending any sort of red carpet or gala. It is timeless and I love it and I can not wait to get myself more of those.